ALI-573: The Peace Treaty of Imam al-Hasan (a)

In the year 41 AH Imam al-Hasan (a) signed his famous peace treaty with Mu’awiyah. Thus ended the five-year period of infallible rule. Was this peace treaty a reversal of ways? A capitulation in the face of a ruthless enemy? The reality could not be further from this. By analyzing the social-political situation, the details of the treaty itself as well as the results that followed thereafter, this course will attempt to clarify the goals of Imam al-Hasan (a).

Instructor: Br. Muhammad Mahdi Kassamali

Dates: 2 Saturdays, Nov 7 and 14

Timings: 8-9 am Vancouver, 11 am-12 noon Toronto, 4- 5 pm UK, 7-8 pm Africa

Registration: http://www.anymeeting.com/PIID=EF54DB82834C38