ALI-587: The Role of Imam al-Sādiq (a), Revisited

The image of Imam al-Sādiq (a) as a pious teacher is etched into the hearts of Muslims, especially with the Shī’ah. But are we to believe that the Imam (a) sufficed himself with teaching and was indifferent to the oppressive rulers of his time? While the descendants of the Prophet (s) lived in abject poverty, it is narrated that at the time of his death the caliph Mansūr left behind a treasury of 600 million dirhams and 14 million dinars. This course will attempt to illustrate the practical steps the Imam (a) took to resist and eventually remove such rulers.

Instructor: Sh. Muhammad Mahdi Kassamali

Dates: 2 Wednesdays, Feb 10 and 17, 2021

Timings: 8-9 am Vancouver; 11 am-12 noon Toronto; 4- 5 pm UK; 7-8 pm East Africa

Registration: http://www.anymeeting.com/PIID=EF58DC81864D3F