ALI-576: Historical Reliability of the Qur’an

One of the criticisms of the Qur’an by non-Muslim scholars is with respect to the historical accuracy of the Qur’an. In particular, the narrations of historical events in the Qur’an, like the flood of Prophet Nuh (a), or the supposed crucifixion of Prophet Isa (a), are compared to their narration in other religious and non-religious texts. In this course, students will become familiar with such claims, develop a better understanding of the style of the Qur’an in narrating historical events, and consider the responses given by Muslim scholars to affirm the historicity of Qur’anic narrations.

Instructor: Sh. Murtaza Bachoo

Dates: 2 Fridays, Nov 20 and 27

Timings: 11am-12 noon Vancouver, 2-3 pm Toronto, 7-8 pm UK

Registration: http://www.anymeeting.com/PIID=EF54DB84854E3E

Session One

Slides – ALI 576 Reliability of HQ Ses 1

Recording – https://www.anymeeting.com/480-482-206/EA53DC86804C3E

Session Two

Slides – ALI 576 Reliability of HQ Ses 2

Recording – https://www.anymeeting.com/955-652-089/EA53DB80884F3E


Important: Registrations for all courses will end the night before at 11:59 PM EST.