ALI-571: History of Translation of the Quran into English

The Holy Quran has been translated into English over one hundred times since the mid-seventeenth century. In this brief course, we will look at how the English translations of the Quran by Muslims and non-Muslims have evolved over time. We will look at a few passages to show that ideological and political leanings have influenced the translators in presenting their efforts. Those who have a working knowledge of Quranic Arabic will be able to benefit from this course better.

Instructor:  Hasanayn Kassamali

Dates; 2 Wednesdays, Oct 21 and 28

Timings: 8-9 am Vancouver, 11 am-12 noon Toronto, 4- 5 pm UK, 6-7 pm Africa

Note: UK time change occurs on Oct 25. Please adjust accordingly.

Registration: anymeeting.com/PIID=EF54DC8789473C